Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > News from The Old Place > The new Alumni vs School Debate

The new Alumni vs School Debate

The School triumphs at inaugural challenge

'This house believes that once an individual’s assets reach half a billion pounds any assets in excess of that must be sequestered by the state.'

This was the motion put forward and argued by our alumni team at the inaugural debating event on 1st December 2023. The black-tie evening began with dinner with Head Master, Stuart McPherson, in the Cowdray Room for the main participants, who were then joined by parents and students in the Whitehead Room to watch the action.

With Genevieve Bailey StA'23 as Prime Minister, Alexander Stewart-Clark R'79 as Deputy PM, Matt Doggett F'07 as MP and Daniel Aghedo-Jacob G'23 as Whip, the alumni team put up an persuasive argument to defend the motion. The Worth School Debating Society team however put their objections in an impressive response, even managing to include some of the School's core values in their summing up, and were declared the winners. The distinguished judging panel was made up of barristers James Maxwell-Scott KC R'89Oliver Pateman F'13 and Simon Florek StB'23 who recently went to Cambridge to study Economics - they made the unanimous decision to award the School the new shield. A huge thank you also to Freddie Bosshard F'23 for chairing the event.

We look forward to next year's challenge!


Photo gallery

To view this News Article

Similar stories

A walk to the Quiet Garden is part of the day

A summer gathering on 1st June with something for everyone More...

A new memorial for a new generation of Worthians More...

St Anne's declared 2024 inter-house debating champions More...

Assist a wider range of young people to visit Worth Abbey More...

21st February 1940 - 27th January 2024 More...

Most read

Dr Daniel Grace F’05 follows in the footsteps of David Livingstone More...

Saturday 14th September, 3pm, Wimbledon Common More...

The house in Smith's time with the porte-cochere

A quick history guide to the Worth Estate More...


Contact Us

Worth Society, Worth School
Paddockhurst Road
Turners Hill
West Sussex RH10 4SD

Quick Links

Follow us on Social

This website is powered by